SOE faculty and staff recognized at annual awards celebration

2021 Annual Appreciation and Awards Ceremony honors nine retirees and hands out several new awards

Wednesday, May 13, 2021

Congratulations to the award winners recognized at our annual VCU School of Education Faculty and Staff Appreciation Ceremony, held virtually on May 12. Thanks also to all SOE faculty and staff for making the 2020-2021 academic year – with all of the continued challenges due to the pandemic – so productive and successful!

Below is a list of the award recipients.

Luciana C. de Oliveira, Ph.D., announces the winner of the Award of Excellence at the 2021 Appreciation & Awards Ceremony.
Dr. Luciana de Oliveira announces the recipient of the Award of Excellence.



*Denotes new award.

The following nine people, who either have or will be retiring this year, were also recognized:

  • Bonita Grifa - Partnership for People with Disabilities - 9 years
  • Marguerite "Gene" Miles - Partnership for People with Disabilities - 11 years
  • Cynthia Hutchinson - The Literacy Institute at VCU - 14 years
  • Terry Dozier - Center for Teacher Leadership - 20 years
  • Barbara Driver - Department of Educational Leadership - 11 years
  • Bill Muth - Department of Teaching and Learning - 16 years
  • Donna Gilles - Partnership for People with Disabilities - 14 years
  • Jan Tusing - Center for Teacher Leadership - 22 years
  • Evelyn Waddell - Center for Teacher Leadership - 7 years
  • Danise Harmon - Partnership for People with Disabilities - 34 years

Retiring faculty and staff members, as well as their colleagues, were invited to share stories or give thanks to someone specific who is retiring this year. Those sentiments are shared in the video of the recorded Zoom session below.